top of page
Search
outdoortramper

Benidorm to Scotland 2023/24

Updated: Apr 30

Hi all I was just checking and realized I have not done an update since the end of November last year!!


So this will just be a quick recap to bring things up to date. The trip back up through Spain and France in December was pretty quick and the days got shorter and colder as I headed North.





My route took me up the East side of central Spain, through Zaragoza – Pamplona and San Sebastian. I felt well off the tourist route and being the run up to Christmas there was lots of interesting Christmas Markets and festivals going on.


Crossing back into France I headed fairly quickly up to Bordeaux and then took a slight detour to Bourg Sur Gironde. I wanted to go here as many years ago as a teenager we spent 6 weeks here grape picking at Chateau Tayac. I even managed to pick up a few bottles of their wine to take back for Christmas.


From here it was then up to Rocheford where I enjoyed an interesting afternoon at the maritime museum as this being a famous shipbuilding area.


From Rocheford it was up to Nantes to pick up a friend Lia who was joining me for the last part of France to Dover. Lia and I had previously met in Kent.


During this last part of France we had an amazing time first exploring Nantes, then through the Loir Valley and visiting the beautiful Chambord Chateau. Next stop was Blois and then onto the Palace of Versailles where we arrived pretty late. But managed to get let in for free which was so well worth it. After a night in Paris it was straight up to Calais for the crossing to Dover and back to Kent to drop Lia off.



By now it was time to start heading North to Scotland but I had timed things to pick up son Alex who was flying over from New Zealand for Christmas. We spent a couple of days heading North and arrived with the family in Dingwall on the 21st.


Christmas and New Year was spent in Scotland with all the family the first time in over 20 years.


So now its late January and I find myself currently back in England fleeting backwards and forwards between friends and family as I survive the UK winter. Where next, well that is a big question at the moment. I'm about to head to Wales to do another work/stay whilst at the same time have started an online Tech course. This is the start of an effort to get a proper job again and re enter the real world.. But we shall see as the road keeps beckoning...





60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page