top of page
Search
outdoortramper

Scotland Tour - August 2023



So in an effort to get things up to date with where I am here is a quick summary of the past month. The van conversion was mostly completed by early August when I then gave it its first real test.


I had entered into the Scottish 6 days Orienteering competition which was being held on the Moray Coast 30th July - 4th August. This gave me a great opportunity to test the van out and experience how easy free wild camping was going to be.


I had read and heard many reports that finding free overnight parking for campervans was getting harder in the UK simply due to too many people doing it and lack of infrastructure in place to cope.


Scotland however I soon found had many options provided you are sensible, abide by the rules and leave nothing behind. Together with the help of a great app (Park 4 Night) the first few nights went well with some great overnight stops in places like Lossiemouth, Burghead and Nairn.


Being able to park in free areas is a big part of my plan to make the budget work in this adventure due to the cost of staying in traditional sites. Also I had made the van to be completely off grid with solar etc. so no real need for sites.


As for the Orienteering that went pretty well. Best 4 out of the 5 days gave me 11th out of 59 in my age grade so was pretty happy with that.


After the Orienteering it was back to the folks place to make some further changes and finishes to the van before I was ready to start heading south.


It was fantastic catching up and spending time with family in Scotland. Managed to get out on lots of walks and see some of the stunning Scottish scenery.


A sample of photos is in the clip below which links to a You Tube channel. I am doing it this way to save space on the blog site.


I'll bring things more up to date with the next post together with some of the challenges I am finding doing this. If you want to know via email when a post is up just register.


Thanks Nick...








46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page